Me compared to who?!

I have a confession. Sometimes I find myself comparing my situation to that of others or rather where I think I should be. I am sure that I am not alone in this feat and it is most definitely not one that I care to continue. In this walk with God, I continuously find myself evaluating my mindset. See here is the thing; the more that I seek Christ, the more that I pray, plead and believe in his desires being first and foremost in my life; is the more the Holy Spirit allows for me to receive revelation and correction. Ephesians 4: 21-24 states:”(21) If so be that ye have heard him, and have been taught by him, as the truth is in Jesus: (22) That ye put off concerning the former conversation the old man, which is corrupt according to the deceitful lusts; (23) And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; (24) And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.
This scripture is powerful and promising to me at this point in my walk. Simply because in my comparisons to others I lose focus on the things and purpose that Christ has for me. How many times have you looked at your life and asked the Lord, “Why me?” or have you said something along the lines of…”Sister So and So doesn’t even follow after you like I do lord and she still has the very things/ connections that I want!” Here is what I have learned God’s timing is not our timing. The time that we spend comparing out status to another could be used towards achieving the status that we desire. 

 Remember this friend, Ephesians 5: 15-17 states:

(15) See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, (16) Redeeming the time, because the days are evil. (17) Wherefore be ye not unwise, but understanding what the will of the Lord is.

So whenever you find yourself comparing and becoming discouraged remember that your walk of life is your own! The Lord trusted you to take that path so that you can bear witness to someone who may not understand Sister So and So and therefore your testimony could be the very thing that links that individual to deliverance in Christ.
When you begin to evaluate yourself, really look at your daily practices and then look on the goals and intentions that you wish for yourself. Psalms 37:5 says “Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.” And, in the event that you know what you want but don’t know how to go about getting it remember Proverbs 16:3 “Commit thy works unto the Lord, and thy thoughts shall be established.” I am realizing more and more every day that the Lord wants us to WIN! The key is winning in and through him.
   So please friend, don’t you dare compare your walk with someone else’s because their purpose and mission is not the same as the one assigned to you. Look at your life and think on three things that you are beyond grateful for and then think on three things that you would like to improve. 

 
  PRESENT them to the Lord, SEEK his face for guidance, and WAIT on him to show you how to go about the CORRECT way of improving those situations. You are beautiful just the way you are! Comparing yourself to others only leads to lies, hurt, confusion and pain. The moment that you realize that you are you and that is perfectly okay; is the moment that the Lord will begin to love on you and show you just how important being you through him really is.
Stay Encouraged!
-E

2 thoughts on “Me compared to who?!

Leave a Reply

